An open apology to the readers of TDOA

About 20 years ago (looong before I was happily married) there was this girl that I met who I really wanted to date.  I didn’t know her and neither did any of my friends.  She was just a girl I met somewhere (probably a bar) and I couldn’t wait to go out with her.  It took a long time to finally get a hold of her and figure out when we’d get together.  When I finally picked up “Amanda” for that first date, I planned to take her to dinner.  But our destination was a good two hours away, so we’d have plenty of uniterrupted time to talk and get to know each other.  I was psyched.

As soon as she got in the car, she pulled out a cassette (did I mention this was 20 years ago?) of Abba’s greatest hits (an oxymoron if there ever was one!).  I took the cassette that I had planned on listening to (Joy Division’s Unknown Pleasures…yeah, I was pretty smooth), gritted my teeth and figured things would get better eventually.  We spent the four hours driving there and back, listening to the Abba cassette over and over and over….

I never called her or spoke to her ever again.

Remember when I posted an entry in which I proclaimed the upcoming White Lies album to be the most anticipated album of 2009.  Yeah….I was wrong.

~ by toddc2001 on January 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
