How did I miss this??!!

If you know me, you know about my passion for music.  From listening to Beatles 7-inches on my kiddie record player with my aunt to now, I live and breathe music.  Many of my friends have succumbed to Rolling Stones disease.  I define RSD as the concept that as you grow older, you become less adventurous in your musical choices.  The 60’s were such a key moment in the history of rock and roll, with people taking huge risks by listening to music that was unlike anything their parents had listened to.  Listening to Jimi Hendrix was nothing like their parents Frank Sinatra and Bobby Darin records.  Don’t try and compare your download of the new All-American Rejects album to your parents listening to The Who.  It doesn’t work.  You’re not cutting edge.  The problem is, that as people grow older they take less risks in music.  As a result, I hear so many people over the age of 25 who say that music isn’t as good as it was when they were a teenager.  “They just don’t make music like the Rolling Stones did when I was a kid!”.  Ugh.  They do.  You just don’t take the time to look for it.

Having said that, lord (am I supposed to capitalize that?  I’ll have to find a book on that…)knows I try.  I “bought” over 100 albums that were released last year.  I’m constantly reading blogs, listening to my Pandora, trying to find new music.  I say all this as a backdrop to my “discovery” of the Black Keys.  I knew they were out there, but for some reason I missed ’em.  Problem is that the Pitchfork’s and Stereogum’s of the world latch on to some crap bands sometimes (how’d that Vampire Weekend thing work out for ya?), so being touted by them sometimes earns a pass from me.

There’s nothing worse than finding one of these bands too late.  I don’t mean so late that they’ve broken up.  I’m not that far behind!  It’s when you find the band shortly before they release their worst album and their inevitable decline (I’m sorry Spoon.  You’re good, but I would sacrifice my adorable dog and mediocre fish to have seen you tour with Telefono).  So I hear “I’ll Be Your Man” by Black Keys, fall in love, research and discover the album came out in 2002.  Uh oh.  I discover they released an album in 2008.  I listen to “Strange Times” (I miss Mark Burgess, btw) and love it.  I download the entire discography.  Perfection.  What’ll happen next?  They’ll either break up so I can never see them live or the next album will resemble the Foo Fighters (in which case I’ll drown the dog…..I may have issues with my dog.).

Today’s lesson? Stay vigilant.  Don’t get complacent.  Exile on Main Street was not the last great rock record.  Keep up.

Enjoy the greatness that is The Black Keys.

~ by toddc2001 on February 1, 2009.

3 Responses to “How did I miss this??!!”

  1. good to see you found the band, better late than never eh?

  2. this is so true, it doesn’t matter what music you listen or what scene your in, I’m a DJ in the “Gothic” and it is near impossible most times to get people into a new band. anyway I just liked your post, thanks

  3. I’m from Akron, and it took me a while to get a hold of this music; their local shows can be hard to get a ticket to. But I am so glad I did. Some so-called “fans” don’t like the new compared to the old. I disagree. People–and bands–should be allowed to show new sides of themselves, and progress is not always a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

 
