Shot By Both Sides

As I’ve said before, I’m really trying to focus on the SXSW thing.  A to Z, doubling back to get the bands I miss the first time, yadda, yadda, yadda.  But I had to stop when I heard the East Hundred album (interview coming next week.  EEEE!) and now I’ve got to stop again.

I’ve stumbled onto a band called The Soft Pack.  I heard a song called Parasites and was scrambling for a piece of paper to write down their name.  (In fact I think I brilliantly misspelled their name when I sent an email to their publicist.  Yes, I misspelled the word Pack and I write a blog.  Yes, I’m walking around my house wearing a dunce cap).  TSP are a LA based band who just signed with Kemado Records according to Billboard (?! Obviously there’s more to this band.  Random bands don’t get written up in Billboard for signing to Kemado)  They used to be called The Muslims but changed their name (did Sean Hannity get to them?).

Here’s the most important part.  They’re amazing.  The rare references by other bloggers I found compared them to The Strokes and Franz Ferdinand.  Um, have you bought a record released before 1990 Stereogum?  There’s a lot of Magazine influence and Unknown Pleasures era Joy Division.   I’ll let you know when I know more, but for now, go to their Myspace page.  There’s nothing around to buy or download, so you’re going to just have to sit there next to me for a while.

Here’s a video from when they were The Muslims.  Doesn’t do them justice, but gives you another taste.

~ by toddc2001 on February 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
