The Library

Each month, I’m going to start providing you with a list of the best music that was released the previous month.  In general, I’m going to stay off the beaten track (no U2 mp3’s for you, thankfully) although I can’t stay away from the new Death Cab.  I’m efforting to make a cute little mp3 player on the sidebar, which you can use to listen to these songs anytime.  In the meantime, here’s the April mp3’s that have been in high rotation for me.

I was going to go in alphabetical order, but this first one is by far the best of the bunch.  You need to own the entire album, as there isn’t a bad track on it.

Black Box Revelation- Love Is On My Mind

and this too:

East Hundred- Hammerhead

Aidan Moffat & The Best-Of’s- 9,000,000 Bicycle

The Artisans- Jazz Serenade

The Big Pink- Velvet

British Sea Power- A Forest (Cure cover)

The Coathangers- Killdozer

Dananananakroyd- Watch This!

Death Cab For Cutie- My Mirror Speaks

Great Lake Swimmers- Everything Is Moving So Fast

Home Video- I Can Make You Feel It

LR Rockets- Cameron Is Connected

Lykke Li- Knocked Up (Live on Carson Daly)

Metric- Help I’m Alive (Acoustic)

M.M.- Call The Shots

Other Lives- Don’t Let Them

Popface- Dreams Burn Down (Ride Cover)

Shirley Lee- The Smack of Pavement On Your Face

SomaHigh- Lo Fat

Superchunk- Learned To Surf (new Superchunk! Yes, please!)

What did I miss?  Post a comment and tell me your favorite releases of April!

~ by toddc2001 on May 11, 2009.

3 Responses to “The Library”

  1. Other new favorites = I Was A King, Gliss, new Wye Oak

  2. This was a great list!! I’ve had no time lately for new music, so you did my work for me and I thankyou for that. My favs are LR Rockets, Deathcab, Artisans, shirley lee and holy I had no idea there was new superchunk…I feel so out of the loop lately. Wow..holy new site!! I gotta get used to this! take care..:)

  3. got a new fav for ya…the memories attack, chris thompson from eric’s trip and ron bates from orange glass. i’m LOVING them! not sure if you heard them yet or not. Thought you might be interested.
    http://www.myspace.com/thememoriesattack
    and i am so excited to check out the wedding present post, but i’m in a rush so will have to later…take care!

Leave a Reply

 
